A Solar contractor can install, alter, repair, maintain, relocate, or replace solar panels for potable solar water heating systems, swimming pool solar heating systems, and photovoltaic systems and any appurtenances, apparatus, or equipment used in connection therewith, whether public, private, or otherwise, regardless of use.
Applicants for this license must pass the Business and Finance Exam and the trade exam.
PRE-APPROVAL: Applicants must submit an application and exam fee to become registered to take the exam. The testing company must receive completed applications and appropriate fees no later than 30 days prior to the next scheduled exam date.
NOTICE: Beginning November 1, 2007 all new applicants or applicants for change in status, will be required to have a criminal background check preformed by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. You are responsible for ensuring that the vendor, Pearson VUE, prior to submitting your application, has scanned your fingerprints. This can be done at various locations. For more information, please visit the Pearson VUE website, http://www.pearsonvue.com/ and select “Digital Fingerprinting Services”, or contact their reservation center at 1.877.238.8232 (TTY 1.800.274.2617) for an appointment. The cost is $56.25. This fee is not included in the licensing fees.
- Please note that the Florida Business and Finance exam as well as the Florida Solar exam is required to be passed to obtain your contractor’s license.
- The Trade-Portion only is also available during the scheduled
seminar dates. Individuals interested in taking the trade portion only
should contact us at 800-992-1910 for further details. The cost for the
Trade-only is $595.00.
- Minimum amounts required for General Liability insurance for
Florida Solar contractors are $100,000 for bodily injury and $25,000
for property damage. All contractors are required to carry Worker’s
- All contractors must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral character.
Beginning November 1, 2007, all applicants for initial licensure or
changed of status will be required to have a criminal background check
performed by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and Federal
Bureau of Investigation. YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ENSURING THAT YOUR
FINGERPRINTS HAVE BEEN SCANNED BY THE DEPARTMENT’S VENDOR,
PROMISSOR/PEARSON VUE, PRIOR TO SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION.
- Applicants must document a net worth of $10,000 and submit a financial statement documented by a CPA.
- Applicants must show they have good credit by submitting a credit report less than 3 months old.
- 4 years of experience in the trade with at least 1 year having been supervisory work OR
- A 4-year degree from an accredited college and 1 year proven experience applicable to the category for which you are applying OR
- 1 year as a foreman and not less than 3 years of credits from any accredited college level courses OR
- 1 year as a workman, 1 year proven experience as a foreman, and 2 years of credits from any accredited college level courses OR
- 2 years of experience as a workman, 1 year of experience as a
foreman, and 1 year of credits from any accredited college level
- Have an active Certified Florida contactor’s license (This option
only applies to Certified Building, Residential, Air Conditioning, and
Swimming Pool contractors as provided in Section 489.111 (2)(c)4-6,
*You can substitute up to 3 years of college credit for experience*
EXAM DETAILS: Professional Testing, Inc administers the exam. It is a two-day, open-book, multiple-choice timed exam. One part will test business and financial skills and the other part will test trade knowledge. Each exam portion is 4-hours and 45-minutes. A score of at least 70% is required to pass the exams. Exams for this license are held three times per year in February, June and October. The exam fee is $135.
NOTICE: Effective November 3, 2006, the Board revised rule 61G4-16.009, Florida Administrative Code. The revised rule provides that a candidate who has failed to achieve a passing score on one or more of the required examinations has up to two years from the date of the first attempt to achieve a passing score on all required parts. If a passing score is not achieved within the two-year period, all past test scores shall be considered invalid and the candidate will be required to retake all portions of the examination. Each candidate will only be allowed six attempts to pass each part of the exam during the two-year period.
EXAM CONTENT: Swimming Pools, Domestic Hot Water and Photovoltaics
BOND / INSURANCE: Contractors holding this license must have General Liability Insurance of at least $100,000 for bodily injury and at least $25,000 for property damage. Worker’s Compensation Insurance is also required.
LICENSE FEES: When applying for initial licensure from May 1st of an Even Numbered Year through August of an Odd Numbered Year, the fee is $409. When applying for initial licensure from September 1st of an Odd Numbered year through April 30th of an Even Numbered Year, the fee is $309. In addition there is a $59 fee for newly established qualified business OR a $50 fee for change to existing qualified business.
CONTINUING EDUCATION: All types of contractors are required to complete 14 hours of Continuing Education with 1-hour covering laws and rules.
PROCESSING TIME: Candidates will receive an unofficial grade report on the day they pass the exam. However, test scores and license approval do not become official until ratified by the Contractors Licensing Board at their next meeting. Licenses are typically received within 14 days of the exam.
RECIPROCITY: Florida does not have a reciprocity agreement with any other states for this license. ***